Santiago de Guayaquil, or just Guayaquil , is the largest and the most populous city in Ecuador, as well as that nation's main port. Guayaquil is on the west margin of the Guayas River, which flows into the Gulf of Guayaquil in the Pacific Ocean. Guayaquil is at 2.21°S 79.90°W, about 250 km south-southwest of the capital of Ecuador, Quito (...)


Guayaquil Department

Guayaquil Department was one of the departments of Gran Colombia. It bordered * Ecuador Department in the East * Azuay Department in the South * Pacific Ocean in the West (...)


Gulf of Guayaquil

The Gulf of Guayaquil is a large body of water of the Pacific Ocean in western South America. Its northern limit is the city of Salinas, in Ecuador, and its southern limit is Punta Pariñas, in Peru. The gulf takes its name from the city of Guayaquil (...)


Universidad Católica de Santiago de Guayaquil

Universidad Católica de Santiago de Guayaquil, UCSG, is a private, catholic, higher education center, along with Pontificia Universidad Católica del Ecuador in Ecuador. (...)


Durán, Ecuador

Durán also known as Eloy Alfaro is a city located in the province of Guayas, Ecuador, near the junction between the Daule & Babahoyo rivers, and where the Guayas River forms. It is the seat of Durán Canton, created in 1986 by local government decree. The city is officially named Eloy Alfaro after the Ecuadorian ex-president Eloy Alfaro Delgado (...)


Ibarra, Ecuador

Ibarra (population of 80,477 in 1990) is a town in northern Ecuador and the capital of the Imbabura province. It lies at the foot of the Imbabura volcano and on the left bank of the Tahuando river. It is about 45 miles northeast of Ecuador's capital Quito. (...)


Cuenca, Ecuador

Cuenca is the third largest city in Ecuador, capital of the Azuay province. It is located in the Sierra, the highlands of Ecuador at about 2500m (8200 ft) above sea level. Its full name is ''Santa Ana de los cuatro ríos de Cuenca''. The city's cobblestone streets, towering cathedrals, and marble and whitewashed buildings give it a colonial air (...)


Ambato, Ecuador

Ambato (full form, San Juan de Ambato) is a city in located in the central Andean valley of EcuadorColumbia Gazetteer of the WorldNew York: Columbia University Press, 1998. Lying on the banks of the Ambato River, the city also stands beneath several tall mountains (...)


Geography of Ecuador

Ecuador is a country in western South America, bordering the Pacific Ocean at the Equator, for which the country is named. Ecuador encompasses a wide range of natural formations and climates, from the desert-like southern coast to the snowcapped peaks of the Andes mountain range to the plains of the (...)


Esmeraldas, Ecuador

Esmeraldas is a coastal city in northwestern Ecuador. It is the seat of the Esmeraldas Canton and the capital of the Esmeraldas Province. It has an international sea port and a small airport (IATA location identifier: ESM). Esmeraldas is the major seaport of northwestern Ecuador (...)